The Doves Wasteland

This is the last picture found in The Thrill of the Chase

Everyone seems to have a different opinion when it comes to the art work. I myself, believe every picture and it’s placement in the book to be a hint at something. This one with the dove, to me, seems to be one of the most important parts of the book, as I believe it hints to the end of the chase and the final resting place of the chest. I have constantly thought about this picture from the very first time I read TTotC. You have to admit, the dove nesting on the moon over a wasteland of  tree stumps is not something you see every day. I have created my own version of the picture to try to get a more real to life essence of what we’re actually looking at and I am curious to hear your thoughts on the matter.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Doves Wasteland

  1. Or –
    A woodsman (Fenn) who has completed his life’s task (all of the trees have been felled) and is resting (and now I am tired), contemplating his final destination. The artist clearly has a pigeon/dove in mind. Psalm 55:6 – I said, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and be at rest.
    -Or-
    Contemplating after having completing his work and watching his chest from afar, which has been secreted in a arc shaped cliff in areas rock pigeons nest among the clefts and crevices of the rock. Song of Solomon 2:14 – O my dove, that art in the clefts of the rock, in the secret places of the stairs …

    I have a few (scant) more – lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

